SA Logo.png

The Student Association at The George Washington University

800 21st Street NW, Suite 427

Washington, DC 20052

About Us

Press Room

Our Impact

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter


GW Listens
International Friendship Portal

Academic Commons

The Legislative Branch

Elected student representatives from every college within the university work on school-specific and university-wide advocacy initiatives to improve the GW experience.


The SA Senate is composed undergraduate senators and graduate senators representing every college within the university. Senators draft and vote on bills and resolutions, allocate money to student organizations, and work on policy projects.


Want to get to know your Senators? Find their office hours here. 


Allocates more than $1.7 million to over 500 undergraduate and graduate student organizations. They receive funding from the Student Association Fee paid by every enrolled student based on the number of credit hours they take. The SA accepts funding requests in the form of spring allocations, co-sponsorships, micro-loans, and line-item transfers. The money supports events and operational expenses for student organizations.


Sen. Matt Ludovico (Undergraduate At-Large) is the Chairperson and Sen. Colin Medwick (Undergraduate School of Business) is the Vice-Chairperson.  


Advocates for improvements to on-campus issues outside of the classroom — in the past, they have worked on projects ranging from expanding dining, to changes to 4-Ride, to improving school spirit.

Sen. AJ Link (Law) is the Chairperson and Sen. Amy Martin (Elliott School of International Affairs - Undergraduate) is the Vice-Chairperson.


Focusing on issues surrounding advising, libraries, and all other aspects of academic life on campus. In the past, the committee has worked on projects concerning course descriptions, syllabi access, and the cost of textbooks.

Sen. Claire Bechtel (Elliott School of International Affairs - Undergraduate) is the Chairperson. Sen. Torri Underwood (Columbian College of Arts and Science - Undergraduate) is the Vice Chair.


Responsible for filling Senate vacancies, overseeing proposed amendments to the SA Bylaws, and keeping the Executive Vice President informed about the activities of the three permanent committees. The Chairperson of the Governance and Nominations Committee is the Senate Pro Tempore, Sen. Anisha Hindocha (Law Senator).