top of page
Committee Banner - Committee

Committees are essential to the effective operation of the Senate. Through investigations and hearings, committees gather information on problems and concerns within their jurisdiction in order to draft, consider, and recommend legislation to the full membership of the Senate. Moreover, committees may start some collective efforts and projects. They evaluate presidential nominees for the Executive Branch and monitor university operations.

The Senate currently has 9 committees/ assemblies: there are seven standing committees, one special committee, and one assembly. Standing committees are permanent bodies with specific responsibilities and jurisdiction that are defined in the SGA Bylaws. The Senate periodically updates the names and jurisdictions of standing committees to address the issues and concerns at GW.


Senate Committees

  • Governance and Nominations

  • Financial Services and Allocations

  • Physical Facilities and Urban Affairs

  • Education Policy (Graduate and Undergraduate)

  • Student Life (Graduate and Undergraduate)

  • Community, Advocacy, and Inclusion

  • Sustainability

  • Special Committee on Dining

Senate Assembly

  • Mental Health Assembly

bottom of page